DRP Amnesty deadline approaching quickly
Texas Department of Public SafetyMarch 30, 2011, 11:22am 1,649 views | Post a comment
The last day to apply for the Driver Responsibility Amnesty Program is approaching quickly. Eligible drivers have until Thursday, April 7 to sign up for the program that will allow them to pay only 10 percent of what they owe up to $250 and reinstate their suspended driver licenses.
Thus far, only 13 percent of the 713,444 people who are eligible to participate in the DRP amnesty have signed up.
This one-time amnesty program applies to drivers who had a surcharge assessed between Sept. 30, 2004, and Dec. 31, 2008, and are delinquent on those payments. No other amnesties will be offered once the April 7 deadline expires.
Drivers are not required to make a payment when they sign up; however, they must pay off the total reduced amount owed by April 17, 2011, to retain their driving privileges. Failure to pay the reduced amount in full will result in the reinstatement of the total amount past due and the suspension of driving privileges.
To apply for the amnesty program, see the surcharge website at www.txsurchargeonline.com <http://www.txsurchargeonline.com/> or call 1-877-207-3170. No requests will be accepted in person, by mail, e-mail, or fax.
Once the online or telephone application is approved, the surcharge suspensions will be cleared on the applicant’s driving record within three business days. After the 3rd business day, the applicant can review the reduced amount and begin making the necessary payment of the reduced balance, which must be paid in full by April 17, 2011.
The Driver Responsibility Program, which assesses fees for a variety of driving-related offenses, was passed by the Legislature in 2003, and directed the Department of Public Safety to administer the program. Traffic offenses that carry an automatic surcharge for three years include DWI-related offenses, no insurance, driving while license suspended, driving without a license and point accumulation. For example, the fee for a first-time DWI offender is $1,000 per year for three years. The revenue generated by DRP goes to trauma centers, emergency medical services, and the General Revenue Fund.
Your Opinions and Comments
Be the first to comment on this story!
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Breaking News Archives
Governor Abbott Adds 24 Counties To Disaster Declaration, including Wilson (May 25, 2015)
National Weather Service continues alerts (May 25, 2015)
Rain leads to flooding, road closures (May 25, 2015)
Update: Tornado warning extended: National Weather Service (May 25, 2015)
Flash flood warning until 12:15 a.m. (May 23, 2015)
Tornado watch until 3 a.m. (May 23, 2015)
Flash flood watch for all of South Central Texas, May 23-24 (May 22, 2015)
Update: Encana workers secure blown Karnes County gas well (May 21, 2015)
Rainfall report: May 11-17 (May 18, 2015)
Flash flood warning issued May 15, expires at 1:45 p.m. (May 15, 2015)
Union Pacific suspects weather caused Pleasanton derailment (May 15, 2015)
Events rescheduled this weekend (May 14, 2015)
Severe thunderstorms, flooding possible in area (May 14, 2015)
Tornado watch for South Central Texas (May 13, 2015)
Weather Updates; Road closures; Flash flood warning until 5:15 p.m. (May 13, 2015)
Flash flood watch continues May 12 (May 12, 2015)
Officers nab fleeing fugitive (May 12, 2015)
Rainfall reports for May 4-10 (May 11, 2015)
Update: Six suffer injuries in U.S. 87 crash (May 7, 2015)
Cornyn Presses State Department On Clinton Emails (May 6, 2015)
ADL condemns violence at Garland event (May 4, 2015)