You’ve been granted free access to this subscribers only article.
Boater education to become mandatory for more Sept. 1
AUSTIN -- A new state law from the recent legislative session will require mandatory boater education for more people in Texas starting Sept. 1, a move supporters say will save lives and make crowded waters safer.
According to a legislative report by the state’s Advisory Panel on Boating Safety, the primary cause of boating deaths nationally is drowning, with 543 in 2009, of which 385 were not wearing life jackets, usually in rough weather or on hazardous water.
Changes to Texas laws targeting boating safety include: mandatory boating safety education certification for anyone born on or after Sept. 1, 1993, to operate a vessel with a motor of more than 15 horsepower or a wind-blown vessel measuring more than 14 feet in length. While all boaters are encouraged to take boating safety education, those born before Sept. 1, 1993, are exempt from required certification.
Previously, only 13- to 17-year-olds were required to complete a boating safety course to operate a vessel without adult supervision.
Texas’ state-approved boater education course is available as a one-day, classroom training, as a home-study course, or as an online course at www.boat-ed.com. The course takes about six hours to complete. Costs range from $13 for the classroom course to about $25 for the home-study course. Information about boater education, including schedules of upcoming classroom courses, is available at http://www.tpwd.state.tx.us/learning/boater_education/.
Boaters falling under the boater education requirement will be required to carry a valid ID and documentation of having taken and passed a boater education course. Failure to meet the requirements is a Class C misdemeanor, and violators have 90 days to complete a boater education course to have the charges dismissed.
The 82nd Texas Legislature during its regular session clarified the definition of a vessel to encompass such craft as standup paddle craft, kayaks, and canoes. In Texas public waters, everyone onboard a vessel that measures less than 26 feet in length must have a life jacket available and kids under 13 must wear one.
Your Opinions and Comments
Be the first to comment on this story!
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Hudson aims arrows at national competition (May 25, 2016)
Poth elementary competes in Pirate Olympics (May 25, 2016)
Poth softball all-district (May 25, 2016)
Rutten places in Dallas tourney (May 25, 2016)
Signup for Stockdale sports camps is under way (May 25, 2016)
Falls City track places at State (May 18, 2016)
Floresville youth camps set (May 18, 2016)
Pirates fall to Blanco in Area (May 18, 2016)
State track meet results are in ... (May 18, 2016)
Tennis skills camp (May 18, 2016)
Bears take down Panthers for bi-district title (May 11, 2016)
Falls City track medals at Regionals (May 11, 2016)
Pirates keelhaul Raiders, head to Area (May 11, 2016)
Playoff roundup (May 11, 2016)
Poth track team qualifies for State (May 11, 2016)
Stockdale tennis wins big at district (May 11, 2016)
‘Killer’ first inning seals Beavers’ fate (May 11, 2016)
Adams signs with Schreiner (May 4, 2016)
Baseball, softball scores (May 4, 2016)
Beaverettes track wins Area (May 4, 2016)
Brahmas take down Bobcats (May 4, 2016)
FISD athletic physicals (May 4, 2016)
Floresville track runs well at Regionals (May 4, 2016)
Lubianski signs with Trinity (May 4, 2016)
Pirates plunder Mustangs for first in district (May 4, 2016)
Pirettes finish season (May 4, 2016)
Stockdale track wins big at Regionals (May 4, 2016)
Volleyball team in the gold (May 4, 2016)