Monday, August 29, 2016
1012 C Street  •  Floresville, TX 78114  •  Phone: 830-216-4519  •  Fax: 830-393-3219  • 

WCN Site Search

Preview the Paper Preview the Paper

Preview this week's Paper
A limited number of pages are displayed in this preview.
Preview this Week’s Issue ›
Subscribe Today ›

Lost & Found

*Includes FREE photo online!

VideoFound small, white, friendly dog with yellow collar in La Vernia. 210-557-0518

VideoLost poodle mix in Sutherland Springs area. Reward. 210-789-0118
More Lost & Found ads ›

Help Wanted

Driver/Customer Service Rep., CDL (A or B) required, dual tandem flatbeds with off-load crane, experience driving off road and sand, septic installation and/or construction experience helpful, regional delivery, weekdays. American Precast Concrete, 525 10th St., Floresville.
Receptionist position available. Full time. Some experience with QuickBooks or basic accounting preferred. Apply at 1108 B Street, Floresville or email resume to
More Help Wanted ads ›

Featured Videos

Video Vault ›

Reb's Race Report

Fourth annual 1000 Buck Shootout at I-37 Raceway

E-Mail this Story to a Friend
Print this Story

J.M. Hallas is responsible for this content, which is not edited by the Wilson County News or

October 26, 2011 | 1,735 views | Post a comment

Pleasanton, Tx., (Oct. 22, 2011) I-37 Raceway at Newsome Motor Park put their 2011 to bed for the year with the conclusion of the 4thAnnual 1000 Buck Shootout. Several new drivers signed in joining in the B-main action as they scrambled for the best starting spot possible in the big money A-mains.

Anderson Aces All Weekend In Modifieds
In a race that saw more yellow flags than an intermural football game, Austin’s Elias Anderson completed the weekend sweep of the Modified action. Driving a car, that’s been collecting dust the past two years, Anderson quickly shook off any driving rust as he took wins in every race Friday and Saturday night. Jamie Campbell closed on Anderson in the waning stages of the 30-lap event, but couldn’t pressure Anderson into a mistake as rolled home for the $1,000 pay day.

31 Elias Anderson, 29 Jamie Campbell, 8g Greg Dinsmore, 38 Dennis Taylor, 44 Joe Spillman, 521 Jason Borlace, 37 Bill Pittaway, 67 Robert Liese jr., 20 Jerry Frydrych, 10k Ellis Tracy, 10 Robert Walton, 13 Gilbert Amezquita, 17 Cody Tidwell, 53x Matt Fox, 21 Barry Codling, 99 Billy Meyer, 49 Chuck Chesler---DNTG, 16 Carson Bednarz---DNS

Modified B-main
8g Greg Dinsmore, 21 Barry Codling, 20 Jerry Frydrych, 53x Matt Fox, 16 Carson Bednarz---DNS, 10 Robert Walton---DNS

Swenson Sneaks with Sportmod/Limited Modified Win
Despite having the left front torn off his car in Friday qualifying and starting “lucky” thirteenth in the A-main, Comfort’s Chris Swenson snuck up on the field and grabbed the big win. The veteran Swenson used the high side to move forward and catch leader, James Blaylock. After J. Blaylock changed his line, Swenson used the bottom to get the lead in the final laps, and then held off a final challenge by J. Blaylock for the checkers.

Sportmod/Limited Modifieds
48 Chris Swenson, 18 James Blaylock, 26g JJ Jennings, 66 Johnny Torres, 55 Danny Brown, 147 GW Hessong, 12 Roly Rodriguez, 34 Michael Walker, 51 Greg Rohmer, 9b Brandon Blaylock, 184 Brian Rye, 37 Bill Pittaway, 85 Jeff Nix, 11 Tom Grothues, 90 Dustin Butcher, 82jp James Parks, 57 Jason Kelly, 04 Jacob Burnet, 3j Jesse James, 76 Michael Carlock, 9 Ray Doyon III, 4 Robby Minten, 66y Randy Yount, 14 Newton Barta jr., 0 Thomas Rye jr.

SM/LM B-mains
B-main 1
48 Chris Swenson, 90 Dustin Butcher, 04 Jacob Burnet, 9 Ray Doyon III, 3j Jesse James, 76 Michael Carlock
B-main 2
51 Greg Rohmer, 12 Roly Rodriguez, 34 Michael Walker, 85 Jeff Nix, 14 Newton Barta jr., 0 Thomas Rye jr., 57 Jason Kelly, 11x Jeff Allgayer, 15 JC Pilcher

Votion Victorious in Season Ender
Track champion, Trey Votion completed his season by adding another win to his yearlong total in the Limited Late Models. Votion, whose truck broke the transmission on the way to the track Friday night, made up for a dismal beginning to the weekend getting past Craig Crawley for the lead. Votion was challenged by Crawley after a late caution, but held him off to snag the checkers.

Limited Late Models
99 Trey Votion, 6 Craig Crawley, 10 AJ Wernette, 149 Stephan Danielson, 77 Landon Farquar, 13 Howie Marcx, 42 Ron Sprayue, 14 Gary Hunter, 14g Greg Dinsmore, 7 Richard Bartosh, 28 Leland Waddell

Jones Jousts with Jack for Street Stock Sweep
The 2011 I-37 Raceway and South Texas Street Stock Shootout champ, Wade Jones capped off his season with yet another victory. Jones broke out early in the 20-lapper and looked to be well on his way to a runaway win. A late race caution rebunched the field putting Bobby Jack on his tail. Jack kept the pressure on Jones the final five laps, but the multi-time track champ held him off for the win.

Street Stocks
41 Wade Jones, 88 Bobby Jack, 149 Stephan Danielson, 66 Johnny Torres, 40 Mike Lyon, 2x Donny Horelka, 37 AJ Wernette, 15 Tommy Casey, 5 Danny Schroat, 7 DJ Schroat, 53 Brian Becka, 31 Jeff Hendricks, 14 Eric Knudtson

Hilla Hauls in Biggest Ever Win
The former Pure Stock track champ(2007) and diminutive, Janel Hilla proved for another time she could mix it up with the big boys. Hilla, who ran in the top five throughout most of the early stages of the 30-lap event, got by Adam Torres on a late restart. From there Hilla held off a rechallenge by Torres, and then eased away for her biggest ever pay day and victory.

Pure Stocks
7x Janel Hilla, 24 Adam Torres, 89 Talon Minten, 58 Hunter Flanagan, 10 Karaline Campbell, 3 David Sevilla, 14 Trey Heald, 95 Jerry Jones, 44 Justin Henley, 117 Devin Adler, 9 Philip Haywood, 15 William Cavender, 88 Brandy Ramzinski, 13 Cameron Smith, 82 Richard Wells, 9s Jarrett Payton, 43 Eric Watson, 25 Tyler Box, 62 Austin Dragoo, 15d James Dear, 31 Frank Okruhlik, 15x Hunter Montgomery

Pure Stocks B-main
31 Frank Okruhlik, 13 Cameron Smith, 82 Richard Wells, 14 Trey Heald, 10 Karaline Campbell, 3 David Sevilla, 9 Philip Haywood, 15x Hunter Montgomery, 15 William Cavender, 62 Austin Dragoo

Easler Eases Away for Enduro Honors
Roy Easler jr. took home the $500 pay day in the 50-lap Front Runner Enduro making it look easy.

Front Runner Enduro
12 Roy Easler jr., 9 Char Powell, 9b Robert Mayberry, 7 Jesse Sandoval, 67 Jimmy Carroll, 3 Joshua Mares, 13 Jason Smith, 98E Will Holder, 19 N/A, 82 Curtis Opiela, 28 Lisa Sandoval, 6x Ronnie Schoenfeldt, 24 Landon Sowder, 113 Hailee Marcx, 69 Jordan Sandoval, 57 Trevor Bettis, 223 Karey Scott, 4 David Lee Grobe
‹ Previous Blog Entry

Your Opinions and Comments

Be the first to comment on this story!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Not a subscriber?
Subscriber, but no password?
Forgot password?

Reb's Race Report Archives

Reb's Race Report Reb's sidebar
Friesenhahn Custom WeldingAllstate & McBride RealtyHeavenly Touch homeVoncille Bielefeld homeTriple R DC Experts

  Copyright © 2007-2016 Wilson County News. All rights reserved. Web development by Drewa Designs.