Wednesday, June 29, 2016
1012 C Street  •  Floresville, TX 78114  •  Phone: 830-216-4519  •  Fax: 830-393-3219  • 

WCN Site Search

Preview the Paper Preview the Paper

Preview this week's Paper
A limited number of pages are displayed in this preview.
Preview this Week’s Issue ›
Subscribe Today ›

Lost & Found

Lost purse @ Maverick's Friday night June 24. Please return. No questions asked. Reward. 830-391-4013
*Includes FREE photo online!
More Lost & Found ads ›

Help Wanted

Welders needed at Felux Metal Works in Poth. Apply in person. 
Very part-time job, all weather, year round, 2 hours per day, approx. 45-60 minutes before 9 a.m., approx. 60-90 minutes before sunset; feed, water chickens (production layers, not pets), horses, cats (many cats rescue colony); collect and put up eggs, no smoking, located halfway between New Berlin and La Vernia. Call/text, 210-861-3664, leave message if no answer.
More Help Wanted ads ›

Featured Videos

Video Vault ›
You’ve been granted free access to this subscribers only article.


Dirt track excitement continues at I-37 Raceway

E-Mail this Story to a Friend
Print this Story
March 21, 2012 | 1,486 views | Post a comment

PLEASANTON -- I-37 Raceway will host its second race of the 2012 season on Saturday, March 24, beginning at 7 p.m.

The IMCA-sanctioned track will feature seven classes, including Modifieds, Sport Modifieds, Limited Late Models, Street Stocks, Purestocks, Front Runners, and a new class called Enduros. The racing action will start with heat races, followed by intermission, and concluding with 20-lap feature races. During intermission, it is the future racers’ chance to show the crowd their racing skills by jumping into their racing Go-Karts.

The track, which has been open since 2000, is a high-banked clay surface, which allows for high speeds and three- to four-car-wide racing. In 2011, I-37 averaged 84 cars a night and looks for that number to increase this year, as the interest to race is increasing every year. I-37 Raceway has scheduled 18 races for 2012, including a Vintage Dirt Track Racing Association-sanctioned motorcycle race on April 21, and a country-western concert on July 14.

I-37 Raceway is a family-oriented business featuring a full concessions stand, souvenir stand, and beer garden. Admission is $10 for adults and discounts for others. Gates open at 5 p.m. The track is located 2 miles south of Leal Road and I-37 on the northbound service road, or 2 miles north of the McCoy exit on I-37 on the northbound service road.

For more information, visit or call 210-478-0111.

March 17 Race Results:

IMCA Modifieds:

8g Greg Dinsmore, 29 Jamie Campbell, 21 Jason Borlace, 37 Bill Pittaway, 49 Chuck Chesler, 38 Dennis Taylor, 16 Carson Bednarz, 24 Tracy Fink, 26 Darin Leonard.

IMCA Southern Sportmods:

26g JJ Jennings, 66 Johnny Torres, D30 John Heil, 14t Talon Minten, 174 Mickey Helms, 17b Bruce Barber, 02 Robert Williams, 4r Robbie Minten, 85 Jeff Nix, 18 Larry Jernigan, 22 Randy Bennett, 2 Craig Lapore, 60 Pat Lyon, 37 Cody Leonard, 94 Alan Torres, 44h Gene Hyde, 84k Patrick Kelly, 51 Greg Rohmer, 17 Jim Blevins-DNS, 9 Ray Doyon III-DNS, 12 Roly Rodriguez-DNS.

Limited Late Models:

99 Trey Votion, 75 Bo Beckner, 7 Richard Bartosh, 6 Craig Crawley, 1x Andrew Hesler, 42 Ron Sprayue, 13 Howie Marcx, 14 Gary Hunter, 13s Jason Smith, D30 John Heil-DNS.

Street Stocks:

41 Wade Jones, 37 AJ Wernette, 2x Dennis Hilla, 40 Mike Lyon, 52 AJ Dancer, 53 Brian Becka, 15 Tommy Casey, 19 Jarrett Barber, 22 Patricia Lucas, 141 Curtis Opiela, 37w Frank Okruhlik, 82 Richard Wells, 31 Jeff Hendricks, 00 Mikey Faulkner-DNS.

Pure Stocks:

7x Janel Hilla, 66 Adam Torres, 117 Devin Adler, 6p Jeremy Hernandez, 1 Tim Watson, 15 William Cavender, 4 James Watson, 10c Karoline Campbell, 43 Eric Watson, 33 Nerida Major, 9 Phillip Haywood, 5 Ryan Doyon, 88 Brandy Ramzinski, 83 Kary Scott, 33c Charles Earnhardt III, 44 Frank Okruhlik, 49 Jay Dancer, 95 Jerry Jones, 14 Trey Heald, 3-1/2 Bill McCall, 186 Robert Danielson-DQ(Tech).

Front Runners:

66c Cindy Snider, 12 Roy Easler Jr., 113 Hailee Marcx, D3 Kirsten Blevins, 01 Lindy Schroat, 08 Landon Sowder, 5 Dillon Gaither.

Your Opinions and Comments

Be the first to comment on this story!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Not a subscriber?
Subscriber, but no password?
Forgot password?

Sports Archives

WCN Football Report
WCN Sports Report SPTS
WCN Volleyball Report
WCN Sports Notice sports
Triple R DC ExpertsAllstate & McBride RealtyVoncille Bielefeld homeHeavenly Touch home

  Copyright © 2007-2016 Wilson County News. All rights reserved. Web development by Drewa Designs.