DPS Urges Drivers to Move Over, Slow Down for Tow Trucks
Texas Department of Public SafetyJune 19, 2012, 3:16pm 2,385 views | Post a comment
AUSTIN -- This week the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) will place special enforcement emphasis on the addition of tow trucks to the Move Over/Slow Down law, which requires motorists to move over or slow down when certain vehicles are stopped on the side of the road with emergency lights activated. To remind the public of this important safety measure, the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) will activate electronic signs this week, which will read: If Tow Truck Stopped Ahead, Move Over or Slow Down, It’s The Law.
“This law is about providing extra protection for those individuals on the side of the road doing their jobs, as well as the people on the roadside with them,” said DPS Director Steven McCraw. “Thanks to this new provision, tow truck drivers, who are usually helping motorists in distress, now have additional protection under the law so they can do their jobs in a safer environment.”
During the 2011 Legislative session, tow trucks were added to the existing law, which already applied to police, fire, and EMS vehicles stopped on the side of the road with emergency lights activated. Motorists are required to vacate the lane closest to the stopped vehicle (if there is more than one available lane in the same direction of travel) or slow to 20 miles below the speed limit.
“Last year, the Texas Legislature amended the Move Over/Slow Down law to now require motorists to slow down or move over when passing a tow truck displaying emergency lights,” said Carol Rawson, TxDOT Traffic Operations director. “At TxDOT, we believe this is an important step toward improving safety for all emergency personnel, including tow truck operators, who routinely work in dangerous conditions along Texas highways.”
DPS issued more than 17,000 warning and citations last year for violation of the Move Over/Slow Down law and another 6,000 through the first five months of this year. Violation of this law could result in fines up to $200. The punishment is more severe if there is property damage, and jail time is possible if someone is injured.
Your Opinions and Comments
Be the first to comment on this story!
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Breaking News Archives
AgriLife Extension to offer programs on Zika, mosquito management in SA (August 24, 2016)
Falls City plans early release for Bruni game Aug. 26 (August 23, 2016)
Most Wanted Fugitive Captured in San Antonio (August 23, 2016)
Watch for signal lights at Standish and Fourth streets (August 23, 2016)
Filing deadline Aug. 25 for Floresville council Place 3, today for other offices (August 22, 2016)
Nixon-Smiley CISD closed first day of school (August 22, 2016)
Rain totals for the week (August 22, 2016)
Overnight flooding causes widespread damage in Wilson County; emergency... (August 21, 2016)
Shelter for flood victims open in Floresville (August 21, 2016)
Poth football scrimmage moved (August 18, 2016)
Counterfeit $20 bills spotted in Floresville (August 17, 2016)
DPS Reminds Drivers to Obey Traffic Laws, Watch For Children As New School... (August 17, 2016)
Weather moves Falls City Aug. 18 scrimmage (August 17, 2016)
Johnny Garcia: One of Texas 10 Most Wanted Fugitives (August 16, 2016)
Flash flood watch issued (August 15, 2016)
Local rain reports (August 15, 2016)
Authorities seek information on vehicle theft (August 11, 2016)
Texas Rangers arrest Nixon city manager (August 11, 2016)
What’s going on? Floresville Police Department closed (August 11, 2016)
Floresville Event Center fire-suppression system fails inspection; city... (August 10, 2016)
Venue change for Rancho de las Cabras film (August 10, 2016)
Police arrest suspect in Nixon armed robbery (August 3, 2016)
Prescribed Burn Planned for Government Canyon State Natural Area Wednesday (August 2, 2016)