Wilson County News
Wilson County News • 1012 C St • Floresville • TX • 78114 • Ph: 830-216-4519 • Fax: 830-393-3219 • Email:
Friday, Sep 19, 2014
Login
Not a subscriber? Click here.
Are you a WCN subscriber?
Set up your password.

 
E-Mail
Password
  Remember me
 
  Forgot password?
La Vernia News
Google
Google

Preview the Paper
Preview this week's Paper
coupon bus-right

Breaking News

Watch for children as new school year begins




E-Mail this Story to a Friend
Print this Story
Texas Department of Public Safety
August 23, 2013, 3:51pm
2089 views | 5 comments

AUSTIN -- As Texas children begin to head back to school, the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) is reminding all drivers to watch out for children walking to and from school or waiting for school buses. Drivers must also obey all traffic laws related to school buses and active school zones.

“As the new school year opens, I urge drivers to do their part in keeping youngsters safe by obeying school zone speed limits and stopping for school buses,” said DPS Director Steven McCraw. “DPS will not tolerate individuals who disregard the law and illegally pass stopped school buses.”

One of the most dangerous times of a student’s trip on a school bus is when they are entering or exiting the bus. Drivers are cautioned to slow down and pay attention in school zones since children may not be looking for oncoming traffic when they step into a roadway.

State law requires that approaching drivers stop when a bus is stopped and operating a visual signal -- either red flashing lights or a stop sign. Drivers should not proceed until the school bus resumes motion; the driver is signaled by the bus driver to proceed; or the visual signal is no longer activated. A driver does not have to stop for a school bus if it is on a highway with roadways separated by an intervening space or physical barrier. (If a highway is divided only by a left-turning lane, the roadways are not separated, and drivers must stop for school buses.)

Beginning Sept. 1, drivers who illegally pass school buses will now face higher fines. The maximum fine for a first offense will increase from $1,000 to $1,250. For drivers convicted of this offense more than once, the law already allows DPS to suspend the driver license for up to six months. (A ticket for illegally passing a school bus cannot be dismissed through defensive driving.)
 


Your Opinions and Comments
 
melony mom  
August 27, 2013 12:32pm
 
 
You guys are ready to give each motorist a ticket "pointing finger and judging". Ask them their story! "I was driving down 181 at 65 mph and the school ... Read More Read More
 
 
William J. Gibbs Jr.  
WCN  
August 27, 2013 11:49am
 
 
... Read More Read More
 
 
retiredinlavernia  
lavernia  
August 26, 2013 3:59am
 
 
I think a second offense should be jail time up to one year in state prision not just losing a driver's license. In the extreme I would concider passing a school bus as ... Read More Read More
 
 
Concerned Tax Payer  
Floresville, Texas  
August 25, 2013 7:49am
 
 
My feelings exactly. If they would just spend a couple of weeks watching, writing tickets, maybe these people would follow the rules. So many drive fast and talk on their ... Read More Read More
 
 
GetReal  
Floresville  
August 24, 2013 9:29pm
 
 
As a bus driver for FISD, I see driver's fail to stop for buses red lights & stop signs day in & day out. Our buses are equipped with flashing yellow lights that ... Read More Read More
 

Share your comment or opinion on this story!


You must be logged in to post comments:



Other Breaking News



omaha-steaks-banner-ads

proflowers—-banner-ads

Connally Memorial MC breaking news banner
 
^Top
  Copyright © 2014 Wilson County News. All rights reserved. Web development by Drewa Designs.
^Top