Saturday, February 6, 2016
1012 C Street  •  Floresville, TX 78114  •  Phone: 830-216-4519  •  Fax: 830-393-3219  • 

WCN Site Search

Preview the Paper Preview the Paper

Preview this week's Paper
A limited number of pages are displayed in this preview.
Preview this Week’s Issue ›
Subscribe Today ›

Lost & Found

Bear, please come home! Missing since October 22, 2014, black Manx cat (no tail), shy. Reward! Help him find his way home. 210-635-7560.
Lost: Female German Shepherd, 2 years old, pink collar. Lost from Hickory Hill/Great Oaks area off FM539, La Vernia on Thurs. Feb. 4 Reward! (830) 947-3465

VideoMissing: Male Boxer, since evening of Jan. 4, Hwy. 97 West, rear of Promised Land Creamery, $500 REWARD. Call 830-391-2240 with information.
More Lost & Found ads ›

Help Wanted

Seeking Childcare Provider at Sandbox Learning Center, must have High School diploma or GED, experience preferred but not required. Applications being accepted at 88 Sandbox Lane, Floresville. 830-393-6013.
Globe Energy Services is accepting applications for Vacuum truck driver operator, Winch truck driver operator for Karnes City terminal, and mechanic for Kenedy or Nixon area, competitive pay, great benefits. For more information, 830-400-2717. All interviews must be scheduled and must be performed in person.
More Help Wanted ads ›

Featured Videos

Video Vault ›
You’ve been granted free access to this subscribers only article.

Agriculture Today

4-H Clubs strive ‘to make the best better’

4-H Clubs strive  ‘to make the best better’
Wilson County Judge Marvin Quinney presents Jessica Puente with the Golden Clover Award during the Aug. 11 4-H Achievement Night in Floresville.

E-Mail this Story to a Friend
Print this Story
September 4, 2013
Post a comment

Puente, Welfel among honorees

FLORESVILLE -- As new faces joined the Wilson County AgriLife Extension staff during the annual Wilson County 4-H Achievement Night held Aug. 11, graduating seniors said goodbye to an organization that some had been involved with for years. This year, the event was held in the Floresville Event Center.

Joslyn Kotzur and Bryan Davis were welcomed to the county as agents for 4-H & Youth Development and Agricultural/Natural Resources, respectively.

Kimberly Lanier, Kelli Kolodziej, Colby Shodrock, Liesel Raabe, Jessica Willey, and Jennifer Kruse are among the seniors who were awarded scholarships.

Kudos were given, as well. Jessica Puente was honored with the Golden Clover Award, the highest county 4-H achievement.

Adlai Welfel received the Danforth “I Dare You” Award.

Recognized for their contributions to the 4-H Club were the Friends of the 4-H -- Ben E. Keith Co., Bill Feick, and Jimmy McFadin.

David Keith was recognized as the Outstanding 4-H Leader.

For the complete list of honorees, see “4-H snapshot.”

2013-14 Wilson County 4-H Council Officers

President Kytheranialynn Fambrough-Brown

First Vice President Jessica Puente

Second Vice President Claire Weber

Secretary Megan Amerson

Treasurer Chad Pargmann

Information Officer (Reporter) Gina Colby

Parliamentarian Chase Pargmann

District Delegate Jennifer Skrzycki

County Council Advisors Ivy Lanier and Julie Skrzycki

Wilson County 4-H Clubs

Currently, the Wilson County 4-H program is comprised of 14 clubs -- Bentwood 4-H, Bluebonnet 4-H, County Line 4-H, Eagle Creek 4-H, Freedom Riders 4-H, Labatt 4-H, Post Oak 4-H, Stockdale 4-H, Sunnyside 4-H, Three Oaks 4-H, Tower Lake 4-H, Wood Valley 4-H, the Red, White & Blue 4-H Club, and the Lonestar Horse Club.

For more information or to join any of these groups, call 830-393-7357 or visit

4-H snapshot

Golden Clover Award -- Jessica Puente

Danforth “I Dare You” Award --Adlai Welfel

Green Clover Award -- Jason Kolodziej, Jacob Prater, Ethan Campos, and Sharon Halliburton

Gold Star Award -- Kytheranialynn Fambrough-Brown, Jennifer Skrzycki, and Audrey Raabe

Silver Star Award -- Kait Steele, Hunter Skrzycki, Emma Weber, Skylar Roath, and Dillon Kotara

Bronze Star Award -- Ty Pargmann, Brian Lowak, Ashley Scribner, Madelyn Wallace, Haley Kopecki, Michael Campos, Megan Kopecki, and Zachary Hoover

Outstanding 4-H Youth -- Sarah Keith, John Colby Shodrock, and Kimberly Lanier

Outstanding 4-H Leader Award --David Keith

Friends of 4-H -- Ben E. Keith Co., Bill Feick, and Jimmy McFadin

Opportunity Scholarship Awards -- Liesel Raabe, $18,000; Kimberly Lanier, $3,000; Colby Shodrock, $10,000; and Kellie Kolodziej, $10,000

4-H Scholarships -- Kimberly Lanier, $500; Kelli Kolodziej, $500; Colby Shodrock, $500; Liesel Raabe, $500; Jessica Willey, $500; and Jennifer Kruse, $500.

Your Opinions and Comments

Be the first to comment on this story!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Not a subscriber?
Subscriber, but no password?
Forgot password?

Agriculture Today Archives

Coupons ag-right
East Central Driving SchoolHeavenly Touch homeVoncille Bielefeld homeTriple R DC ExpertsAllstate & McBride Realty

  Copyright © 2007-2016 Wilson County News. All rights reserved. Web development by Drewa Designs.