Monday, February 8, 2016
1012 C Street  •  Floresville, TX 78114  •  Phone: 830-216-4519  •  Fax: 830-393-3219  • 

WCN Site Search

Preview the Paper Preview the Paper

Preview this week's Paper
A limited number of pages are displayed in this preview.
Preview this Week’s Issue ›
Subscribe Today ›

Lost & Found

Found: Basset Hound, Hwy. 97 W./Hospital Blvd., Floresville. Call 830-391-2153 between 9 a.m.-11:30 p.m.

VideoREWARD. LOST CAT: Gray and white male cat, since Nov. 13, on C.R. 429, Stockdale, wearing a silver collar. Call 512-629-2005 with any information.
Bear, please come home! Missing since October 22, 2014, black Manx cat (no tail), shy. Reward! Help him find his way home. 210-635-7560.
More Lost & Found ads ›

Help Wanted

Seeking Diesel Mechanic for concrete batch plant in Wilson County. Experience with eighteen-wheeler and/or ready mix concrete trucks may be required. Company provides paid time off, medical insurance benefits, and paid holidays. Contact Mesquite Concrete, Inc. at 830-216-1530, ask to talk to Nicolas. 
Your #1 Advertising Resource! Call 830-216-4519.
More Help Wanted ads ›

Featured Videos

Video Vault ›
You’ve been granted free access to this subscribers only article.

Agriculture Today

Hoefelmeyer receives Pioneer Award

Hoefelmeyer receives Pioneer Award
Carl Hoefelmeyer

E-Mail this Story to a Friend
Print this Story
December 18, 2013
Post a comment

Carl Hoefelmeyer of Wilson County was honored with the Texas Farm Bureau District 12 Pioneer Award at the Texas Farm Bureau’s 80th annual meeting Dec. 8 in San Antonio.

“Texas Farm Bureau is thankful for men like Carl Hoefelmeyer who have dedicated their time and talents in the name of Texas agriculture and Texas Farm Bureau,” Texas Farm Bureau President Kenneth Dierschke said. “We’re pleased to be able to recognize Carl for his many years of service to his community, Texas farmers and ranchers, and to the organization.”

At the age of 18, Hoefelmeyer became a Wilson County Farm Bureau member. Four years later, in 1970, he was elected to serve as a county board member and has served continuously since that time. He has held the offices of secretary-treasurer, vice president, and president.

Hoefelmeyer served on the Texas Farm Bureau Friends of Agriculture Fund (AGFUND), membership, policy development, finance, audit, budget, nominating, Young Farmer & Rancher, state affairs, national affairs and Ag in the Classroom committees. He also served on the beef commodity and swine commodity committees and the state resolutions committee. Hoefelmeyer was instrumental in starting the state Swine Advisory Committee.

In 1963, he began a registered herd of Angus cattle with the purchase of two heifers. Today, he and his son run a 200-cow operation and this year his herd received the historic herd designation for 50 years of Angus cattle breeding. Fewer than 10 herds statewide have achieved this status.

Hoefelmeyer is a member of the Floresville Peanut Festival Association and was president and vice president of the Wilson County Junior Livestock Show.

The Hoefelmeyer family, including his children and their families, are Farm Bureau members.

The Texas Farm Bureau’s Pioneer Award honors one outstanding Texas farmer or rancher in each of the organization’s 13 districts, as well as one staff member. Winners are chosen annually by a panel of their peers for their exceptional contributions to agriculture and Texas Farm Bureau.

State awards

Also during the meeting, the following were honored with state awards:

•Harlingen sugar cane farmer Sam Sparks, 33, and his wife, Shannon, were chosen as the 2013 Outstanding Young Farmer & Rancher.

•Dane Elliott, a Live Oak County farmer, won the Discussion Meet contest. This contest encourages problem solving through cooperative discussion among young farmers and ranchers.

•Aaron and Amanda Low of Alto are the winners of this year’s Excellence in Agriculture contest. Aaron serves as an Texas AgriLife Extension Service agent for Cherokee County and Amanda is an elementary school teacher and 4-H club manager.

•Collin Warwick, the son of Billy and Tina Warwick of Austin, won the Free Enterprise Speech Contest. He topped 11 other speakers and earned a $6,000 scholarship.


During the state Farm Bureau’s business meeting, delegates elected:

•Kenneth Dierschke, a cotton and grain farmer from San Angelo, to his 12th term as president of the state’s largest farm organization, which reached a 500,000-member milestone this year.

•David Stubblefield of Colorado City was re-elected as vice president.

•Russell Boening of Wilson County was re-elected as secretary-treasurer.

Your Opinions and Comments

Be the first to comment on this story!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Not a subscriber?
Subscriber, but no password?
Forgot password?

Agriculture Today Archives

Coupons ag-right
East Central Driving SchoolVoncille Bielefeld homeAllstate & McBride RealtyTriple R DC ExpertsHeavenly Touch home

  Copyright © 2007-2016 Wilson County News. All rights reserved. Web development by Drewa Designs.