Friday, February 12, 2016
1012 C Street  •  Floresville, TX 78114  •  Phone: 830-216-4519  •  Fax: 830-393-3219  • 

WCN Site Search

Preview the Paper Preview the Paper

Preview this week's Paper
A limited number of pages are displayed in this preview.
Preview this Week’s Issue ›
Subscribe Today ›

Lost & Found

Lost: Female German Shepherd, about 2 years old, pink collar, lost from Hickory Hill/Great Oaks Subdivisions off FM 539, La Vernia, on Thurs., Feb. 4. Reward! 830-947-3465.

VideoLost dog! Two weeks ago our dog went missing. Black lab mix. About 2 years old. He has a scar on his belly and a black tongue. Please call 8305835601
Bear, please come home! Missing since October 22, 2014, black Manx cat (no tail), shy. Reward! Help him find his way home. 210-635-7560.
More Lost & Found ads ›

Help Wanted

Senior Accounting Specialist needed in Whitsett, TX, must pass background and drug test, Quickbooks accounting experience necessary, pay based on experience, company benefits. Email resumes to
Warning: While most advertisers are reputable, some are not. Unfortunately the Wilson County News cannot guarantee the products or services of those who buy advertising space in our pages. We urge our readers to use great care, and when in doubt, contact the San Antonio Better Business Bureau, 210-828-9441, BEFORE spending money. If you feel you have been the victim of fraud, contact the Consumer Protection Office of the Attorney General in Austin, 512-463-2070.
More Help Wanted ads ›

Featured Videos

Video Vault ›
You’ve been granted free access to this subscribers only article.

Agriculture Today

LV FFA members earn chapter degrees

LV FFA members earn  chapter  degrees
La Vernia FFA Milk Quality and Products Team members (l-r) Colton Ploch, Lynsey Terrill, Macy Tarpley, and Sullivan Latka will represent La Vernia and Texas in national competition in October in Louisville, Ky.

E-Mail this Story to a Friend
Print this Story
July 2, 2014
Post a comment


Members of the La Vernia FFA Chapter were awarded chapter degrees during their May 12 banquet. Many achievements were announced throughout the night, including the LDE and CDE team accomplishments.

To start off the night, the Star Greenhand Degree was awarded to Micayla Pearson. Next, the Star Chapter Farmer Degrees were awarded to Jaelyn Kotzur and Bo Garcia.

Allison Bukowski, Braden Recker, Kenna Turner, Samantha Kravitz, and Annie Lowak were all awarded the Star Lone Star Degree. Then, the New Horizon Award was presented to Lynsey Terrill for high agricultural and academic achievements. The Top Hand Award was awarded to Bo Garcia for his outstanding SAE success.

The Distinguished Service Award, which is given to outstanding community members who greatly help and support the FFA, was presented to the Wade Busby Memorial Organization.

The Ag Mechanics Award was given to Jonathan Stanush, Kyler Puhlmann, and Jacob Bailey.

Many of the Leadership and Judging Teams did well. In the fall, the Senior Quiz team of Samantha Kravitz, Jennifer Escamilla, Zachary Balcar, and Elizabeth Moczygemba placed first at district, second at area, and sixth at state.

In the spring, the Ag Mechanics, Poultry, Ag Sales, Tractor Tech, and Milk Quality and Products teams each placed first at district and first at area, all qualifying for state. The Floriculture team placed first at district and second at area. This team also qualified for state competition.

During state competition, the Milk Quality and Products Team of Lynsey Terrill, Sullivan Latka, Macy Tarpley, and Colton Ploch placed first at state, and will be advancing on to the nationals this October in Louisville, Ky.

The Ag Mechanics Team of Coby Mills, Jonathan Stanush, Jacob Bailey, and Audrey Mays placed second at state.

The Floriculture Team of Emily Mollenkopf, Samantha Kravitz, Allison Bukowski, and Jaelyn Kotzur placed third at state.

The Tractor Tech Team of Kyler Puhlmann, Coby Mills, and Jonathan Stanush placed fourth at state.

The Poultry Team of Kourtney Sells, Katy Scott, Jennifer Skrzycki, and Annie Lowak placed fifth at state.

The Ag Sales Team of Braden Recker, Jordan Bailey, Kasey Reinen, and Zachary Balcar placed fifth at state.

Many other teams did well this year, including the Junior and Senior Chapter Conducting teams, the Junior and Senior Skills teams, the Livestock Judging Team, and the Junior Quiz Team, as well as our individual competitors in the Creed Speaking and Job Interview competitions.

Your Opinions and Comments

Be the first to comment on this story!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Not a subscriber?
Subscriber, but no password?
Forgot password?

Agriculture Today Archives

Coupons ag-right
Allstate & McBride RealtyHeavenly Touch homeEast Central Driving SchoolTriple R DC ExpertsVoncille Bielefeld home

  Copyright © 2007-2016 Wilson County News. All rights reserved. Web development by Drewa Designs.