Saturday, October 22, 2016
1012 C Street  •  Floresville, TX 78114  •  Phone: 830-216-4519  •  Fax: 830-393-3219  • 

WCN Site Search

Preview the Paper Preview the Paper

Preview this week's Paper
A limited number of pages are displayed in this preview.
Preview this Week’s Issue ›
Subscribe Today ›

Lost & Found

*Includes FREE photo online!

Video'Mama' has been missing since Sunday evening at Countryside Apartments. Picture on online edition. If someone decided to keep her, please let us know at least. Thanks. 830-391-2153
Lost: Black Angus calf, between C.R. 331 and C.R. 304 in Floresville, last seen headed towards Terrance and C.R. 304 from C.R. 331. Call Frasier, 830-391-3435.
More Lost & Found ads ›

Help Wanted

Roper's Bar is now hiring bartenders, bar-backs, and waitresses. Apply at Roper's, 528 10th St., Monday-Saturday after 4:00 p.m.
Need toddler/pre-k teacher in Falls City, located at 401 Front St., GED or high school diploma required. Come in for more information and application.
More Help Wanted ads ›

Featured Videos

Video Vault ›
City Base PlumbingPursch with auto packageShowcase

Breaking News

TxDOT offering free child safety seat checks this week

E-Mail this Story to a Friend
Print this Story
Texas Department of Transportation
September 16, 2015, 1:47pm
2,653 views | Post a comment

Child deaths on Texas roadways up 25 percent in 2014

AUSTIN -- The Texas Department of Transportation offers free child safety seat checks at the agency’s 25 statewide district offices and encourages all caregivers to make an appointment as part of national Child Passenger Safety Week, Sept. 13-19. TxDOT reminds all Texans that properly restraining their children while riding in vehicles is an everyday, year-round responsibility. It’s also the law.

In 2014, crashes on Texas roads killed 81 children younger than 8 years of age. In 2013, that number was 67. Texas law requires all children under 8 years old -- unless they are taller than 4 feet 9 inches -- to be in a child safety seat whenever they ride in a passenger vehicle. Failure to properly restrain a child can result in a ticket up to $250.

Drivers should refer to their specific child safety seat manufacturer’s manual for instructions on how to install the safety seat. The vehicle owner’s manual also includes information on the proper placement of the safety seat and proper use of the seat belt or LATCH system.

To schedule a free child safety seat check with a nearby TxDOT Traffic Safety Specialist, text the word “seat” and your ZIP code to 876526. Drivers also can visit to learn if a child should be in a rear-facing seat, forward-facing seat or booster seat.

Your Opinions and Comments

Be the first to comment on this story!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Not a subscriber?
Subscriber, but no password?
Forgot password?

Breaking News Archives

WCN Citizens Forum 5/28/15
Malcolm's Custom Welding
Southern Electric
Voncille Bielefeld homeTriple R DC ExpertsFriesenhahn Custom WeldingHeavenly Touch homeAllstate & McBride Realty

  Copyright © 2007-2016 Wilson County News. All rights reserved. Web development by Drewa Designs.