Thursday, October 20, 2016
1012 C Street  •  Floresville, TX 78114  •  Phone: 830-216-4519  •  Fax: 830-393-3219  • 
global 2

WCN Site Search

Preview the Paper Preview the Paper

Preview this week's Paper
A limited number of pages are displayed in this preview.
Preview this Week’s Issue ›
Subscribe Today ›

Lost & Found

Lost: Black Angus calf, between C.R. 331 and C.R. 304 in Floresville, last seen headed towards Terrance and C.R. 304 from C.R. 331. Call Frasier, 830-391-3435.

VideoLost: White Poodle mix, F.M. 539 and Hwy. 87, Sutherland Springs area, needs medicine. Reward. Call 210-789-0118.
Lost: Black Angus bull, C.R. 417 and C.R. 422 area, Stockdale. 210-241-1844.
More Lost & Found ads ›

Help Wanted

Need a pre-k 3 teacher in La Vernia for homeschooling. Please call 210-887-0970.
Assessment Administrators – Part-time, temporary position to proctor assessments in schools for the National Assessment of Educational Progress. Must be available January 30th-March 10, 2017. Paid training, paid time and mileage reimbursement for local driving, and weekly paychecks. To apply go to select “Search Field Data Collection Jobs.” Search for your state, find the NAEP Assessment Administrator position, and select the “apply to job” button. For more information email NAEPrecruit@westat. com or call 1-888-237-8036. WESTAT/EOE.
More Help Wanted ads ›

Featured Videos

Video Vault ›

Election Coverage

Candidates file for May ballots

E-Mail this Story to a Friend
Print this Story

March 24, 2016 | 1,799 views | 1 comment

(Updated 3/24/16, Floresville seats) Voters will soon head back to the polls to decide the makeup of a number of area city councils and school boards.

Election day is May 7. The deadline for candidates to file was Feb. 19 -- except for Floresville, where the city council called a special election for two council seats. Floresville’s filing deadline is March 7.

Where candidates find themselves without an opponent, the respective entity may not hold an election.


•China Grove -- for mayor: Mary Ann Hajek and Glenn L. McCarty; for two council members: Gail Beaver, Lucille Kosub, Dennis Parma, and Eugene D. Ripps (at large).

•Elmendorf -- for mayor: Manuel Decena Jr. and Michael James Gonzales; for two council members: Polo Maldonado and Richard B. Rodriguez (Place 3); and Linda Peńa Ortiz (Place 5). Voters will also cast ballots on three propositions.

•Falls City -- for mayor: Brent Houdmann; for four council members: Corey Albert, Steven Swierc, Aaron Wiatrek, and Andrew Wiatrek (at large)

•Floresville -- for two council members: Gerard J. Jimenez and Joyce Stinson (Place 4); and Frank S Ramirez, Gloria Morales Cantu, and Nick Nissen (Place 5).

•La Vernia -- for mayor: Robert Gregory; for two council members: Eloi Ray Cormier and Harold Schott (at large)

•Nixon -- for mayor: Gladyne Finch; for two council members: Gloria (Leticia) DeLeon, Patricia (Pat) Dingler, Doug Koenig, George Peńa, Jessica Smith, and Jason Torres (at large)

•Poth -- for mayor: Johnny De La Zerda (Sr.) and Anthony W. Smolka; for two council members: Paul Martinez (full term) and Chrystal Eckel (unexpired term)

•St. Hedwig -- for mayor: Dee Grimm; for two council members: Susann Baker (Place 2); Deborah McInerney, Kathy Palmer, and Walter Wyrwich (Place 4)

•Stockdale -- for three council members: Scott Soden (District 3); Becky Adams (District 4); and Neal Bennett (District 5).

School districts

•Falls City -- for two trustees: Aaron Ermis, Holli Foster, Kelly Hons, Patrick W. Jarzombek, and Kevin Labus (at large)

•Nixon-Smiley -- for three trustees: Mary Ann Fatheree and Mark Mendez (Place 1); Maria Rios Griffin and Lester Warzecha (Place 5); and Jimmy Newman (Place 7)

•Stockdale -- for three trustees: Craig Clancy (Place 2); Teri Dugi (Place 5); and Sal Urrabazo (Place 7).

Your Opinions and Comments

Nannette Kilbey-Smith, Editor  
April 15 at 5:05pm
Your chance to meet the Floresville City Council candidates, and ask your questions, is April 21!

Share your comment or opinion on this story!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Not a subscriber?
Subscriber, but no password?
Forgot password?

Election Coverage Archives

Election election coverage header
Election Voter registration header
Election voter reg-download ford
Election secretary of state voter info
Sample Ballots sample ballot header
Sample Ballots Wilson County
Sample Ballots ESD 1 La Vernia
Sample Ballots ESD 2 Eagle Creek
Sample Ballots Karnes county
Sample Ballots floresville
Election Coverage voters guides header
Election Coverage Christian voters
Election Coverage League Women
Election Coverage Liberty Institute
Texas State Rifle Assoc.
Election Coverage Citizen Link
Allstate & McBride RealtyHeavenly Touch homeTriple R DC ExpertsFriesenhahn Custom WeldingVoncille Bielefeld home

  Copyright © 2007-2016 Wilson County News. All rights reserved. Web development by Drewa Designs.