Farmers can apply for drought assistance

Audio articles on Wilson County News made possible by C Street Gift Shop in downtown Floresville!

Karnes and Live Oak counties have been declared primary federal natural disaster areas due to the recent drought, and Jim Wells and Wilson counties have been designated as contiguous natural disaster areas. Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack made the declaration Aug. 28. A total of 22 counties in Texas were included in the disaster declaration.

A disaster declaration resulting from drought makes farmers in the eligible counties eligible to be considered for Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans. The following is important information for applicants:

•Deadline to apply —Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of a Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for an emergency loan.

•FSA’s consideration of applications — FSA will consider each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses on the farm; the security available to repay the loan; and the repayment ability of the operator.

To apply or for more information, visit drought.