Audio articles on Wilson County News made possible by C Street Gift Shop in downtown Floresville

Find more of WCN’s video coverage of these and other meetings at including Commissioners May 23, Hospital Board May 19, Poth ISD May 18, Stockdale ISD May 19, Stockdale EDC May 19, ESD 2 May 16, and Property Tax Meeting May 22

Wilson County Commissioners

Meeting: Regular meeting, May 23, 9-9:59 a.m.


•Proclaimed May as Community Action Month in Wilson County

•Accepted a Spirit of Health Award presented to the county by the Baptist Health Foundation of San Antonio

•Appointed Donald Scee to the county Emergency Services District 5 board

•Approved an application for a $20,000 grant from the Motor Vehicle Crime Prevention Authority to lease seven automatic license-plate readers for the Wilson County Sheriff’s Office; the grant requires a $4,000 match from the county

•Approved an application for a $2,500 Texas Book Festival Grant to enhance the Wilson County Public Libraries book collection

•Approved a utility permit for S.S. Water Supply Corp. to install waterlines on an easement next to C.R. 328 west of La Vernia

•Approved a final platting of 70 lots in Unit 2 of the Estates at Triple R Ranch near C.R. 319 southwest of La Vernia and accepted a letter of credit for $369,120

•Approved final platting of 50 lots for the Pradera Ridge Subdivision off C.R. 320 north of Floresville and accepted a $574,617 bond

•Approved the final platting for the Redemption Subdivision off U.S. 87 near La Vernia, next to Livingway Church

•Approved the platting of approximately 5 acres of property of the Blitz’s Haven Subdivision, which is primarily located in Guadalupe County

•Approved a financial report for March and April presented by interim County Treasurer Christina Mutz

•Approved payment of bills received by the county totaling $281,833.66.

In attendance: County Judge Richard L. “Dickie” Jackson and commissioners Gary Martin, Paul Pfeil, and Jeffery Pierdolla; County Sheriff Jim Stewart, County Clerk Eva Martinez, interim County Treasurer Christina Mutz, County Auditor Brenda Treviño, Grants Manager Michele Mora, Emergency Response Coordinator LeAnn Hosek, Emergency Management Planner Rebekkah Scriven, Human Resource Specialist Jalyn Bodiford, and Assistant County Attorney Katherine Chapman.

La Vernia Independent School District

Meeting: Special meeting, May 16, 7:30-8:41 p.m.; executive session, 7:31-8:40 p.m.


•Approved for legal counsel to proceed as discussed in the executive session regarding two civil suits filed against the school district; these suits were filed in 2017 following allegations of sexual assault involving students in the high school’s male athletic teams.

In attendance: Board President Nancy Janysek, Vice President Shawn Strey, and trustees Ryan Doege, Joel Goode, Jimmy McFadin, and Jeff Towns; Superintendent and School Board Executive Secretary Theresa Watson.

Information per Superintendent and School Board Executive Secretary Theresa Watson.