Audio articles on Wilson County News made possible by C Street Gift Shop in downtown Floresville

View WCN’s video coverage of these meetings online at for ESD 5 July 5, Commissioners Court July 11, and St. Hedwig July 7.

Wilson County Emergency Services District 5

(Central and western Wilson County, including Floresville)

Meeting: Special meeting, July 5, 6-6:32 p.m.


•Accepted a $101,276.64 bid from All- Pro Paving of Floresville to construct a new driveway and parking area for the Hospital Boulevard fire station

•Approved Wilson County Tax Assessor-Collector Dawn Polasek Barnett as the designated officer to calculate the district’s no-new revenue tax rate and the voter-approval tax rate for the 2022 tax year

•Authorized Emergency Services District 4 to utilize the Cañada Verde fire station northwest of Floresville for an ambulance and crew on a temporary basis, provided ESD 4 pays for utilities and maintenance.

Discussion, no action:

•Began discussion on a fiscal year 2022-23 budget, beginning with a tentative budget of $1.07 million, presented to board members by fire and rescue Chief Adam Strzelczyk.

In attendance: Commission Chairman Jeff Oltjendiers, Vice Chairman Ryan Bippert, Secretary Lino Arocha, and Assistant Treasurer Donald Scee; fire and rescue Chief Adam Strzelczyk, and board counsel Tom Caldwell.

Evergreen Underground Water Conservation District

Meeting: Regular meeting, June 30, 9-10:35 a.m.; public hearing, 9:10-9:17 a.m.


•Approved water well drilling and production permits for irrigation, one each in Atascosa, Frio, and Wilson counties, and one water well production permit for an existing well for industrial use in Karnes County, after a public hearing

•Approved a report of bills paid, deposits made, and financial statements for May

•Approved a resolution adopting the Desired Future Conditions for Groundwater for Groundwater Management Area 13, which encompasses all or part of nine counties, including Atascosa, Frio, and Wilson counties

•Approved a resolution to adopt the Desired Future Conditions for Groundwater for Groundwater Management Area 15, which encompasses all or part of 14 counties, including Karnes County

•Scheduled the next board meeting for July 29.

In attendance: Board President Blaine Schorp, Vice President Frank Kruciak, Secretary-Treasurer Diane Savage, and directors Larry Bartek, Thomas Moy III, Clayton Neal, Sherman Posey, Weldon Riggs, and Jay Troell; district General Manager Russell Labus, Assistant Manager Chris McFarlane, Secretary Melissa Gonzalez, and Technical Specialist Landon Yosko.

Information per district Secretary Melissa Gonzalez.

Wilson County Commissioners

Meeting: Regular meeting, July 11, 9-9:41 a.m.


•Approved to invite bids from contractors for services to Wilson County pertaining to material/hauling/material and hauling, fuel, towing, and lawn maintenance. The deadline for submissions will be 9 a.m., Aug. 8

•Approved utility permits for S.S. Water Supply Corp. for four properties on C.R. 306 C.R. 304 in Precinct 4 and three properties on Trails End, C.R. 342, and C.R. 337 in Precinct 3

•Approved release of the letter of credit of Unit 7 in the Eden Crossing subdivision.

Discussion, no action:

•Heard from Wilson County AgriLife Extension Agent Nicole Demmer on Wilson County 4-H teams recently taking top honors in competition

•Heard a budget proposal for Wilson County Sheriff’s Office from Sheriff Jim Stewart and Pct. 4 Commissioner Larry Wiley; the proposal calls for an increase for the department from $1.8 million to 2.6 million, approximately 72 percent.

In attendance: County Judge Richard L. “Dickie” Jackson and commissioners Jeffery Pierdolla, Paul Pfeil, and Larry Wiley; County Sheriff Jim Stewart, County Clerk Eva Martinez, County Tax Assessor-Collector Dawn Polasek Barnett, interim County Treasurer Christina Mutz, County Auditor Brenda Treviño, Permits and Development Director Rebekkah Scriven, Human Resource Specialist Jalyn Bodiford, and Assistant County Attorney Katherine Chapman.