2017-12-06 / Election Coverage

Candidates face filing deadline

By WCN Staff

Eligible citizens who wish to become a candidate for public office with Wilson County must do two things before 6 p.m. Monday, Dec. 11.

They must file a campaign treasurer appointment with the county clerk at the Wilson County Courthouse, and they must file their candidate application with their respective county party chairman.

Republicans should contact Ruby Manen at 830-391-0818, and Democrats should contact Juan Mancias at 830-391-7992 or 830-391-6376, to submit their filing application.

County positions up for election in 2018, and the current officeholders, include:

•County Judge Richard L. “Dickie” Jackson

•District Clerk Deborah Bryan

•County Clerk Eva Martinez

•County Treasurer Jan Hartl

•County commissioners Pct. 2 Paul Pfeil and Pct. 4 Larry Wiley

•Justices of the peace Pct. 1 Johnny Tejada Villarreal, Pct. 2 Sara Canady, Pct. 3 Harold Schott, and Pct. 4 C.J. Rutland.

In addition, Republican and Democratic county chairmen and all voting precinct chairmen are up for election.

For more information on filing for public office, contact the Elections Division of the Office of the Secretary of State at or 1-800- 252-VOTE or 512-463-5650.

Return to top

Click here for digital edition
2017-12-06 digital edition