2017-12-13 / Election Coverage

Candidates prepare for March primaries

By WCN Staff

Wilson County will find a number of its incumbent office-holders challenged in the March 6 primary election.

      Area candidates filing by the Dec. 11 deadline for the Republican and Democratic primaries include:


      •State representative, District 44: John Kuempel (incumbent)

      •District judge, 81st Judicial District: Lynn Ellison            

      •District judge, 218st Judicial District: Russell Wilson (incumbent)            

      •County judge: Richard L. “Dickie” Jackson (incumbent) and Alena D. Gutierrez-Berlanga

      •District clerk: Deborah Bryan (incumbent)

      •County treasurer: Jan Hartl (incumbent) and Debra L. Foster

      •Commissioner, Precinct 2: Paul Wallace Pfeil (incumbent) and Tiffany A. Ward

      •Commissioner, Precinct 4: Larry A. Wiley (incumbent)

      •Justice of the peace, Precinct 2: Sara Canady (incumbent)

      •Justice of the peace, Precinct 3, Connie Terry, Lowell C. “Lobo” Hull Jr., and Bradford Beck

      •Justice of the peace, Precinct 4: Clara J. “CJ” Rutland.


      •State representative, District 44: John D. Rodgers

      •District judge, 81st Judicial District: Errlinda Castillo      

      •County clerk: Eva S. Martinez (incumbent)

      •Justice of the peace, Precinct 1: Johnny P. Villarreal (incumbent).

Return to top

Click here for digital edition
2017-12-13 digital edition