2018-01-31 / Election Coverage

Deadline approaching to file for May elections

The deadline is Friday, Feb. 16, for community members to file to run for seats on local school boards and city councils.

Election Day is Saturday, May 5.

Applications for a place on the ballot are due soon for:

China Grove City Council: At-large places currently held by Gail Beaver and Dennis Parma

Elmendorf City Council: Aldermen seats Place 3, held by Polo Maldonado; Place 5, Linda Peña Ortiz; and mayor, Michael Gonzales

Falls City Independent School District (ISD): at-large places currently held by Mindy Jendrusch and Wayne Lyssy

La Vernia City Council: At-large council seats currently held by Eloi Cormier and Dianell Recker and office of mayor

Nixon City Council: At-large seats currently held by Patricia “Pat” Dingler and Doug Koenig

Nixon-Smiley Consolidated ISD: Place 2, currently held by Jimmy Newman, and Place 3, Richard Lott

Poth ISD: Trustee seats currently held by Rogelio “Roy” Cruz, Dawn Kerby, Lance Malcher, and Wesley West

St. Hedwig City Council: Place 2, currently held by Susann Baker; Place 4, Deborah McInnerney; and mayor, Dee Grimm

Stockdale City Council: District III, incumbent Scott Soden; District IV, Becky Adams; and District V, Neal Bennett

Stockdale ISD: District 3, currently served by Barry Osborne, and District 4, held by Tanner Voelkel.

Watch for more on the election in coming issues of the Wilson County News.

Return to top

Click here for digital edition
2018-01-31 digital edition