South Texas Photo Contest 2021 – Happy Places

This year’s “South Texas Photo Contest” focused on capturing where readers like to escape to, or wish they could be. The deadline was Friday, April 30, at 5 p.m. Winners were announced in the Wilson County News June 2, 2021.

2021 Entries

  • Brittany Baumann, Floresville

  • Sylvia Solis-Torans, Adkins

  • Anne Fannin, Floresville

  • Gabriel Fuentes, Floresville

  • Jennifer Perez, Floresville

  • Marina Linton, Floresville

  • Chris Sonnier, Sutherland Springs

  • Lupita Schneider, Floresville

  • Lynette Best-Gray, La Vernia

  • Rachel Martinez, San Antonio

  • Sonya Pruski, Stockdale

  • Stacey Dukas, Stockdale

  • Wendi Cook, Floresville

  • (youth) Kelton Stokes, San Antonio

  • Debbie Shodrock, Adkins

  • Dora Orr, Floresville

  • Jandale Wallace, San Antonio

  • Rhonda McNiel, Floresville

  • Wanda Hellums, Mathis

  • Amber Johnson, San Antonio

  • David Ibarra, Floresville

  • Michael Olivo, Floresville

  • Samuel Blanco III, Stockdale

  • Susi Christopher, La Vernia

  • (youth) Kollman Street, Floresville

  • Becky Riddle, Floresville

  • Elizabeth Koopmann, Poth

  • Kayla Dunlevy Lambeck, Stockdale

  • Ken Hartlein, Floresville

Want to view past years? Enjoy 2020 and 2019 entries at and

Entries will be judged on composition and creativity. Decision of the judges is final. Photographers should obtain parental consent if the content of the photo involves a child. Limit ONE entry per photographer. Photos submitted become the property of the Wilson County News and they may be used in special promotions in the future. Photos submitted will NOT be returned. All photos submitted will be published online at and some may be published in the Wilson County News and La Vernia News. Email photos to or submit through the GoWilson phone app (download through Google Playstore or iTunes). Submissions MUST include photographer’s name, address, and home/daytime phone numbers as well as a brief description of the photo, also specifying if entry is for adult or youth (17 and younger) category. Deadline to enter was Friday, April 30, 2021, at 5 p.m. Winners will be published in the Wilson County News. Employees of the Wilson County News and their immediate families are not eligible to enter.